Media Invitation: EPP Group Bureau meeting in Berlin

The EPP Group’s Bureau will travel to Berlin from Wednesday 8 to Friday 10 September to discuss the next steps for a better, more democratic and stronger Europe. Together with Prime Ministers, Presidents of national parliaments, Mayors and political party leaders from around Europe, the leadership of the largest political group in the European Parliament will exchange views with German Chancellor Angela Merkel and thank her for her years of service and leadership in the European People's Party.

Other speakers during the meeting include Chancellor Sebastian Kurz of Austria, Prime Ministers Andrej Plenković (Croatia), Ingrida Šimonytė (Lithuania) and Irish Tánaiste Leo Varadkar. Also, Wolfgang Schäuble, President of the German Bundestag, Armin Laschet, Prime Minister of North Rhine-Westphalia and President of the CDU, and Markus Söder, Prime Minister of Bavaria and Chairman of the CSU, will engage with the EPP Group’s leadership on Europe’s agenda for the years to come.

Journalists are invited to attend the meeting at the Intercontinental Hotel in Berlin (Budapeststrasse 2). Selected speeches will be transmitted to the press room. Registration is mandatory and places are limited due to COVID restrictions at the hotel. Below you can find a general overview of the programme. After registration, you will receive a detailed press programme for the meeting.

To register please send an e-mail with your contact details for the event to by Monday 6 September.


Wednesday 8 September

Dr Wolfgang SCHÄUBLE MP, President of the German Bundestag


Thursday 9 September

Dr Angela MERKEL MP, Federal Chancellor of Germany

Sebastian KURZ, Chancellor of Austria, President of the ÖVP

Ingrida ŠIMONYTĖ, Prime Minister of Lithuania

Andrej PLENKOVIĆ, Prime Minister of Croatia, President of the HDZ

Leo VARADKAR Tánaiste, Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment, President of Fine Gael

Ludovic ORBAN MP, President of the Romanian Parliament and President of the National Liberal Party of Romania

Armin LASCHET, Prime Minister of North Rhine-Westphalia, President of the CDU

Markus SÖDER, Prime Minister of Bavaria and Chairman of the CSU

Pablo CASADO MP, President of the Partido Popular

Rafał TRZASKOWSKI, Mayor of Warsaw and Member of the Committee of the Regions


Friday 10 September

Annegret KRAMP-KARRENBAUER, German Federal Minister of Defence

Matej TONIN, Minister of Defence of Slovenia

Note to editors

The EPP Group is the largest political group in the European Parliament with 179 Members from all EU Member States

What we stand for

No result