EU should actively mediate between Armenia and Azerbaijan

Caucase, Nagorno Karabakh

“The EU should be more actively involved in settling the conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan over Naghorno-Karabakh”, insist Željana Zovko MEP and Andrey Kovatchev MEP, ahead of today’s vote on two parliamentary reports on relations between the EU and Azerbaijan and the EU and Armenia.

According to Zovko and Kovatchev, the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan has significantly hampered the socio-economic development and stability of the whole South Caucasus region. If the EU had taken a more active stance during and immediately after the war in 2020, Russia, Iran and Turkey, would not have gained so much influence in the region.

The EU has a leading role to play in the peaceful conflict resolution through preventive diplomacy, as showcased in the recent mediation efforts. We should continue to support Azerbaijan and Armenia by promoting  tolerance and coexistence“, underlines Zovko, EPP Group Vice Chair and author of the report on EU relations with Azerbaijan.

Andrey Kovatchev, who authored the report on Armenia, outlines that "for the settlement of the long-standing conflict between the two states, the following goals need to be reached: border delimitation and demarcation; the signature of a peace treaty; a guarantee for the future of the Armenians living in Nagorno-Karabakh; the establishment of a connection between the western provinces of Azerbaijan and Nakhichevan; as well as the release of all remaining Armenian prisoners, both military and civilian; and an agreement to refrain from using hate speech and violent rhetoric, especially at the highest levels of government”.

Zovko and Kovatchev urge the Azerbaijani authorities to ensure freedom and security of movement along the Lachin corridor and to remove any obstacles that would hinder freedom of such movement along that corridor.


Note to editors

The EPP Group is the largest political group in the European Parliament with 176 Members from all EU Member States

What we stand for