"On behalf of the EPP Group, I congratulate the new Finnish President, Sauli Niinistö, on his massive electoral victory in Finland today", declared Joseph Daul, Chairman of the EPP Group, the largest political Group in the European Parliament.

Sauli Niinistö has had a long political career at national and international level, being Chairman of the National Coalition Party, Finance Minister of Finland, the Vice-President of the European Investment Bank (EIB) and the Spokesman of the Finnish Parliament. He is also an Honorary President of the European People's Party.

The presidential term is six years in Finland. Sauli Niinistö will take up his duties on 1 March.

"You have our full support and best wishes for your further success", concluded Joseph Daul.



The EPP Group is by far the largest political group in the European Parliament with 270 Members and 3 Croatian Observer Members.

Other related content