Fitzgerald elected Vice-Chairwoman of the EPP Group

VC Fitzgerald

The EPP Group in the European Parliament elected Frances Fitzgerald MEP (IE) as Vice-Chairwoman at a meeting today (Wednesday), completing its Presidency team.

“I want to thank my EPP Group colleagues for their support and confidence in electing me to the Presidency of the Group. The role of Vice-Chairwoman comes with great responsibility in setting our political priorities and steering the Group during this most critical time for Europe as we continue to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic and work to ensure a fair and prosperous recovery for all citizens. I look forward to beginning that work”, Fitzgerald said following today’s election.

Vice-Chairwoman Fitzgerald was first elected to the European Parliament in 2019 as a Fine Gael MEP for Dublin. Prior to her election to the European Parliament, Fitzgerald served as a national parliamentarian for over 20 years and as Tánaiste (Irish Deputy Prime Minister).

EPP Group Chairman, Manfred Weber MEP, has warmly congratulated Vice-Chairwoman Fitzgerald on her election, adding that he looks forward to working with her in this new role.

Find out more about Frances Fitzgerald MEP here.

Note to editors

The EPP Group is the largest political group in the European Parliament with 175 Members from all EU Member States

What we stand for

No result