After 5 years imprisonment, Ukrainian film director Oleg Sentsov was released today along with a number of his fellow Ukrainian political prisoners.

“We welcome the release of Sakharov Laureate Oleg Sentsov and his fellow Ukrainian detainees from Russian prisons. We wish Mr Sentsov and his colleagues a peaceful return to Ukraine and a speedy and full recovery from the difficulties they have gone through. For Oleg Sentsov we particularly remember his courageous hunger strike”, declared Michael Gahler MEP, EPP Group Spokesman for Foreign Affairs.

The EPP Group has been consistent in its calls for the immediate and unconditional release of Mr Sentsov and other Ukrainian political prisoners in Russia.

“Oleg Sentsov was awarded the European Parliament's Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought on 12 December 2018 in recognition of his peaceful protest against the illegal occupation of his native Crimea and also for his courage, determination and his convictions in support of human dignity, democracy, the rule of law and human rights. We are looking forward to receiving and celebrating Mr Sentsov personally in the European Parliament at his earliest convenience”, concluded Michael Gahler.


The EPP Group is the largest political group in the European Parliament with 182 Members from 26 Member States

Other related content