The EPP Group elected its Presidency today (Chair and 10 Vice-Chairs) for 2017-2019.

Manfred Weber MEP, who has chaired the EPP Group since 2014, was re-elected by an overwhelming majority of EPP Group Members with 97.8% of the votes.

The new EPP Group Presidency will be composed of: Lara Comi (Italy); Esther de Lange (Netherlands); Mariya Gabriel (Bulgaria); Esteban González Pons (Spain); Françoise Grossetête (France); Sandra Kalniete (Latvia); Marian-Jean Marinescu (Romania); Paulo Rangel (Portugal); József Szájer (Hungary); and Tadeusz Zwiefka (Poland).

"The election of our Presidency is a strong signal of unity of our Group", said Manfred Weber. "The coming 12 months will be decisive for the future of Europe. To counter the rise of populism, the EU States need to wake up. They must assume their responsibilities. We must show that Europe can deliver and bring lasting solutions. Our message to Turkey is also very clear: accession negotiations should be frozen immediately", he said.

Manfred Weber, 44 years old, has been a Member of the European Parliament since 2004. He has held various positions within the EPP Group since then, among which EPP Group Coordinator in the Civil Liberties Committee, and EPP Group Vice-Chairman responsible for the Working Group on Legal and Home Affairs. He succeeded Joseph Daul in 2014 as Chairman of the EPP Group.

In Germany, Manfred Weber is also the Deputy Chair of his Party, the CSU.


The EPP Group is the largest political group in the European Parliament with 216 Members from 27 Member States

Other related content