Press Release

Entry-Exit System to prevent use of false identities

, 12.07.2017 - 10:58
Border Entry / Exit signage between UK and France

A new electronic Entry/Exit System registering all non-EU citizens arriving in the Schengen area was approved today by the European Parliament’s Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs. The Committee confirmed a political agreement the European Parliament reached with EU Member States at the end of June.

Agustín Díaz de Mera MEP, Rapporteur of the two adopted EU legislative proposals, said: “The new Entry/Exit System is a very important step forward towards strengthening security in Europe. It will allow law enforcement authorities to search in travel history records while investigating crimes related to terrorism and other serious breaches of law. Criminals with false identities, such as the terrorist from the Berlin Christmas market, will now be easily identified. The EPP Group made sure that data for people who stay in the EU illegally will be stored for a longer time than for others.”

The new system will register the name, type of travel document, fingerprints, a facial image and the date and place of entry and exit of all non-EU visitors coming to countries in the Schengen area (including Bulgaria and Romania) for a period of 90 days maximum. Data on people who are refused entry will be stored in order to avoid their arrival via a different border with a different or false travel document.

“There won’t be any manual stamps on passports needed for tourists visiting the EU. The new system will be fully electronic which will facilitate border controls for both visitors and border guards”, added Díaz de Mera.

The proposals on the functioning of the Entry/Exit system and on the interaction of the new system with the Schengen Borders Code are part of the revision of the Smart Border package addressing the role of information systems in enhancing external border management, internal security and the fight against terrorism and organised crime. Today’s vote in the committee will be confirmed by the plenary of the European Parliament after the summer break.

Note to Editors
The EPP Group is the largest political group in the European Parliament with 215 Members from 27 Member States

MEP Contacts

BRU - Phone: +32 (0)2 2845624 Fax: +32 (0)2 2849624

Press Contacts

Czech press
Phone: +32 484 278 754


Man a airport security checkpoint
26.07.2017 - 16:46

EU Court ruling confirms Canada PNR agreement

The European Court of Justice in Luxembourg has, in principle, approved the proposed EU agreement with Canada on the exchange of passenger name...
Mexico - EU flags
19.07.2017 - 17:13

EPP Group supports strengthening of EU-Mexico partnership

Members of the EPP Group Presidency are concluding their 3-day official visit to Mexico today. “We have had fruitful and inspiring...
Photo of EU-US map
17.07.2017 - 14:32

EPP Group Presidency on official visit to Mexico

This week, the EPP Group Presidency will be in Mexico on an official visit. From Monday to Thursday, a delegation composed of EPP Group Chair...
13.07.2017 - 12:11

PiS government has crossed the red line of the rule of law

Manfred Weber MEP, Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament, and Esteban González Pons MEP, EPP Group Vice-Chairman in charge of...

Highlights of the week

10.07.2017 - 14.07.2017
Smart Borders

Smart Borders: better control of travellers

A new electronic Entry-Exit System to register all non-EU citizens coming to the Schengen area for a short stay will be voted on in the Committee on...
hands - handshake

Providing support for stability and peace in third countries

On Tuesday, Members of the Foreign Affairs Committee will give the green light to the use of EU funds to help the security forces in third countries...
EPP Group October I Plenary Briefing

Chairman's agenda

Saturday: CSU Party congress, Viechtach/Bavaria Sunday: Participation in a panel discussion, University of Passau/Bavaria Monday: Participation...
Croatian MEP Dubravka Suica with a man in national costume