Former MEP
Party: Christlich Demokratische Union Deutschlands (DE)
Country: Germany
  • BRU:
    PHS 08B043 (Paul-Henri Spaak)
    Parlement européen
    60, rue Wiertz / Wiertzstraat 60

    B-1047 Bruxelles / Brussel
    Phone: +32 (0)2 2845769
    Fax:+32 (0)2 2849769
  • STR:
    LOW T06069 (Louise Weiss)
    Parlement européen
    Allée du Printemps
    BP 1024/F
    F-67070 Strasbourg cedex
    Phone: +33 (0)3 88 175769
    Fax:+33 (0)3 88 179769
My Positions in Parliament:
  • Member - Christlich Demokratische Union Deutschlands
  • Member - Group of the European People's Party (Christian Democrats)
  • Member - Foreign Affairs
  • Member - Arab Peninsula
  • Substitute - United States
  • Substitute - Development
  • Substitute - Delegation to the UfM Parliamentary Assembly

Curriculum vitae

Born in 1945. Wallenhorst/Land Osnabrück (Lower Saxony). Only Member of the EP who serves continously since the 1st direct election in '79. President of the EP '07-'09, Chairman of the EPP group in the EP '99-'07, before Vice-Chairman '94-'99. Studies of Law, Political Science and History at the universities of Bonn and Geneva. Study at Columbia University in New York, Doctorate '74. Second state law exam '76. Research Assistant '76-'79. Appointed Lecturer at the University of Osnabrueck '89. Appointed honorary professor '95. Member of the Federal Executive Committee of the CDU in Germany '99-'09, since July '09 coopted into the Federal Executive Board. Member of the Executive Committee of the EPP until '09. Chairman of the CDU in the district of Osnabrueck since '90.Chairman of the CDU in the district of Osnabrück '90-'10.Co-founder of the "European Charlemagne Youth Prize".President of the Europa-Union Deutschland '97-'99. Chaiman of the Konrad-Adenaur-Stiftung. MEP since1979.


Press releases

EU and Ukraine
16.04.2014 - 11:52

Pöttering zu Ukraine/Russland

Hans-Gert Pöttering, einziger Abgeordneter, der seit der ersten Europawahl im Jahre 1979 ununterbrochen dem Europäischen Parlament angehört - Vorsitzender der EVP-ED-Fraktion von 1999-...



Loading Video...